Skip to main content Scroll Top

Compare Health Insurances for Cats and Dogs

Compare Petplan with other dog and cat insurance providers

  • Legend
  • Covered
  • Depends on the plan or has limits
  • Not covered
  • Not stated in their documents
Petplan Línea Directa
Mapfre Generali Barkibu SantéVet Adeslas Santa Lucía
Health insurance – What it covers
Free choice of vet for illnesses
only their partner network

80% outside their network

80% outside their network

only their partner network
How much of an illness vet bill does it pay? 100%
fixed co-payment of 45 €
0% at your own vet
in their clinic network you pay set prices
80% outside network
100% in their network
80% outside network
100% in their network; optional cover of 1,000 to 2,000 €/year
80%
you pay 20% of each bill
90%
+ 70 €/year excess
0% at your own vet
in their clinic network you pay set prices
Up to 1,000 €/year
2,380 € vet bill for a broken leg at your own vet: how much do you pay? 45 € 1,380 €
limit of 1,000 €/year for accidents
596 €
80% and no post-operative medication
1,380 €
limit of 1,000 € per accident
476 € 308 €
90% minus 70 € excess
2,380 €
no reimbursement outside their network
2,080 €
300 € limit for a pet valued at 600 €
Medicines
no medicines in the Vet Plan

only during surgery

only injectables during consultations; no medication at check-ups

no medication at check-ups
Physiotherapy
max. 8 sessions
Breed-specific illnesses
does not cover illnesses

excludes dysplasia and patellar luxation

excludes dysplasia, patella and congenital conditions

with exclusions (e.g. brachycephalic)

excludes congenital and hereditary conditions

excludes congenital conditions
Behavioural disorders
does not cover illnesses

max. 8 sessions, 6-month waiting period
Other coverages
Death due to illness 600 €
only due to an accident

optional: value of the animal, 4-month waiting period
1,000 €
6-month waiting period
Euthanasia and remains management 200 € 150 € 150 €
+150 € burial or cremation
As a vet expense 22 € excess
paid by you
180 €
Expenses if your pet is lost 600 € 155 € 150 €
+75 € boarding
180 €
Boarding stay due to the owner’s hospitalisation 600 € 300 € 350 € 300 €
Scope of coverage European Union
and United Kingdom
Spain Spain and abroad European Union Spain
EU, UK and Andorra up to 6 months
Spain
and trips of less than 3 months
Spain European Union
Insures rabbits
Waiting periods and claims
Waiting periods of 6 months or more No
15 days accident / 30 days illness
Yes
euthanasia due to illness: 6 months
Yes
euthanasia due to illness: 1 year
No
maximum 4 months: euthanasia and death due to illness
Yes
dysplasia, cruciate ligament, herniated disc… 6 months
Yes
surgery and ligaments: 6 months
Yes
death due to illness: 6 months
Yes
euthanasia and death: 6 months
Deadline to report a claim 12 months 7 days 7 days 7 days 3 months 7 days 7 days
Strength and experience in pet insurance
Years insuring pets 50 years
since 1976
Less than 1 month
its vet insurance, launched in October 2026
21 years
since 2005
2 years
since 2024
4 years
since 2022
23 years
in Spain since 2017
8 years
since 2018
13 years
since 2013
Pets insured +25 million ≈ 90,000
estimate based on their public data
+150,000
in 7 European countries
+1 million
Things to bear in mind before taking out health insurance for your pet:

Annual maximum limit, waiting periods and exclusions. It is very important to check the policies of all insurers before signing up.

Comparison based on the IPID, the general terms and conditions and the website of each insurer, consulted in October 2026. The most comprehensive plan of each insurer is compared: Línea Directa Completo + Plan veterinario, Mapfre Seguro Veterinario Accidentes y Enfermedad, Generali Mascotas (2026 terms) with the optional illness cover, Barkibu Ilimitado, SantéVet Premium, Adeslas Mascotas Completa and Santa Lucía Seguro de Mascotas (with all its optional covers). The grey “Not stated” icon means the information does not appear in the insurer’s public documents. Example bill: consultation 80 €, X-ray 90 €, blood test 80 €, anaesthesia 150 €, surgery 900 €, plate 500 €, hospitalisation 250 €, medication 150 € and check-ups 180 €.

The information in this comparison is for illustrative purposes only and should be verified with each company.